Conviction Integrity Units: An Interesting Example in Brooklyn

Posted: April 16, 2013 in Conviction Integrity Unit
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

I’ve written before about Conviction Integrity Units (CIUs) in prosecutors’ offices (take a look here and here).  CIUs are groups of lawyers within prosecutors’ offices — just like a major crimes unit or a narcotics unit, though probably much smaller than either of these — with the job of investigating questionable past convictions from that same office.  CIUs do this when presented with evidence that raises real doubts about the guilt of a convicted defendant in one of the office’s past cases.

The first CIU was established by Dallas DA Craig Watkins, who had then just been elected against a backdrop of more than 20 exonerations of people wrongfully convicted under the past leadership of his agency.  (The latest story about Watkins and the exoneration of wrongfully convicted people in Dallas — examining a fascinating twist on exonerations — is here.)  Just a couple of years later, Patricia Lykos, then the newly elected DA in Houston, established a CIU in her office.  From Texas, the idea has begun to spread.

Both the Dallas and Houston CIUs have one thing in common: they were launched by new DAs to investigate cases that originated under former administrations.  No doubt this is easier than investigating mistakes that have happened under one’s own watch.

That’s what makes this story out of the Brooklyn DA’s office so interesting.  Charles Hynes, the elected DA of Brooklyn, established a CIU that will be looking at cases in which prosecutors obtained convictions during his own six terms in office.  For example, at the end of March, David Ranta, 58, was released after spending 23 years in prison for the killing of a rabbi in Williamsburg, Brooklyn.  The original conviction came under Hynes’ leadership; when Ranta was released, Hynes gave credit for the release to his CIU.

CIUs accomplish something very fundamental: they make the task of uncovering mistakes in the justice system into a routine operation.  On the other hand, as readers of this blog have correctly pointed out, CIUs are a lot like internal affairs divisions in police departments: the DAs are investigating themselves.  This is easier to credit when the head of the office is not the same person who was at the helm when the mistakes were made.  It is also why CIUs  are still rare when the head of the office has been serving a long time — long enough to be the one responsible for the mistakes under investigation.

Comments
  1. Tate says:

    I’m trying to find information about the Houston Conviction Integrity Unit but can’t seem to find any. Can you provide me with some links?

  2. No matter if some one searches for his required
    thing, therefore he/she wants to be available that in detail, therefore that thing is maintained
    over here.

  3. Thank you a bunch for sharing this with all people you actually understand what you’re
    talking approximately! Bookmarked. Kindly additionally consult with my site =).

    We may have a link alternate agreement among us

  4. I visited various sites except the audio
    feature for audio songs current at this web site is
    actually superb.

  5. I’m not sure why but this website is loading incredibly slow for me.
    Is anyone else having this problem or is it a problem on my end?
    I’ll check back later and see if the problem still exists.

  6. Valencia says:

    Hey are using WordPress for your site platform?
    I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and
    set up my own. Do you need any coding expertise to make your own blog?
    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  7. I blog quite often and I seriously thank you for your information.
    This great article has truly peaked my interest.
    I will bookmark your website and keep checking for new information about once a week.
    I opted in for your RSS feed too.

  8. Darby says:

    Hi, i feel that i saw you visited my blog so i got here to go
    back the prefer?.I am trying to to find things to enhance my site!I guess its ok to
    use some of your ideas!!

  9. Hello! I know this is kinda off topic but I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest writing a blog article or vice-versa?
    My blog discusses a lot of the same subjects as yours and I
    believe we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you are interested feel free to send me an e-mail. I look
    forward to hearing from you! Awesome blog by the way!

  10. app seo says:

    I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest but your
    sites really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website
    to come back later on. Many thanks

  11. Leona says:

    Hi there! Would you mind if I share your blog with my myspace
    group? There’s a lot of people that I think would really appreciate your content.
    Please let me know. Cheers

  12. roksa says:

    Normally I don’t read post on blogs, but I would like to say that this write-up very forced me to check out and do it!

    Your writing style has been surprised me.
    Thanks, quite nice post.

  13. montreal says:

    I feel this is one of the so much important information for me.
    And i am glad studying your article. But want to observation
    on some general issues, The website taste is perfect, the articles is in point of fact great :
    D. Good process, cheers

  14. web page says:

    Paragraph writing is also a excitement, if you be familiar with then you can write if not it is complex
    to write.

  15. Spot on with this write-up, I really believe this website needs
    a lot more attention. I’ll probably be back again to read through more, thanks for the info!

  16. However, choosing to raise a bilingual child is something that requires a great deal of thought, preparation,
    and time. Yamada Sensei 6th dan Judo was a
    highly respected Judoka, he was also friendly with Kenshiro Abbe Sensei.

    In April of 1981, a series of riots broke out in industrial cities across the United Kingdom.

  17. Admiring the time and energy you put into your blog
    and detailed information you offer. It’s awesome to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same out of date rehashed material.
    Excellent read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  18. […] Unit (CIU), which I wrote about in connection with the exoneration and release of David Ranta, here.  As readers of the Failed Evidence blog know, CIUs are  dedicated units within […]

Leave a comment